Log in

Log in

2023 SEAOC College of Fellows

The Structural Engineers Association of California (SEAOC) Board of Directors established the College of Fellows in 1994 to honor esteemed members who have provided distinguished service to the Association and made outstanding contributions in the field of structural engineering. Each SEAOC Member Organization nominates prospective Fellows based on a set of criteria that includes demonstrated skill and achievement in structural engineering, contributions to the profession through publication or presentations, service to the Member Organizations or SEAOC, and service to the public through participation on boards and bodies relevant to structural engineering. 

The highest honor that SEAOC bestows on any individual member of the association is entry into the prestigious SEAOC College of Fellows. Members are nominated annually by the Board of Directors of each of the four regional associations (SEAOSC, SEAONC, SEAOSD and SEAOCC) that together form SEAOC.  Nominated members have shown significant contributions to the structural engineering profession and growth of SEAOC over the years.

View a complete list of past recipients from each of the four regional associations at the SEAOC website.

The following Structural Engineers Association of Southern California (SEAOSC) members are recognized as members of the SEAOC College of Fellows:

Susan Dowty

Jeff Crosier

Past Winners

Year Name
2022Jesse Karns, SE
Mehran Pourzanjani, SE


Michelle Kam-Biron, SE and SECB
Robert (Bob) Lyons, SE
Ashwani Dhalwala, SE
2019Peter Maranian, SE
Janah Risha, SE
2018David Cocke, SE
Joseph LaBrie, SE
Y. Henry Huang, PE, CBO
Dr. Farzad Naeim, SE
Bill Warren
Doug Thompsen
2015Michael Cochran
2014 Tom Sabol
Fred Schott
2013 Nabih Youssef
2012 Richard Hess
John A. "Trailer" Martin, Jr.
2011 Martin Johnson
2009-10 Jack Bruce
Brian Cochran
2008-09 C. Terry Dooley
Robert Englekirk
2007-08 Gregg Brandow
James Amrhein
2006-07 Dan Novak
2005-06 David Breiholz
James Lai
2004-05 Manny Morden
Mel Green
2003-04 John Shipp
Ronald Nelson
2002-03 Robart Bachman
Allan Porush
2001-02 John Robb
2000-01 Gerald Lehmer
Carl Johnson
1999-00 Robert Tobin
Mamory Kanda
1998-99 Edward J. Teal
George Housner
1997-98 Ted M. Christensen
Donald R. Strand
1996-97 John Kariotis
Richard J. Phillips
1995-96 John C. Lovenguth
Donald K. Jephcott
1994-95 John M. Coil
Ben L. Schmid
Clarkson W. Pinkham
John A. (Jack) Martin
Roy G. Johnston
William T. Wheeler

Contact Us

10945 Burbank Blvd. 
North Hollywood, CA 90601
Phone: (562) 908-6131
Media Relations
Advertise With Us


The Structural Engineers Association of Southern California (SEAOSC) is a professional association with a rich history and a commitment to shaping the future of structural engineering. This legacy continues to affect the field, as SEAOSC remains a dynamic platform for knowledge sharing, professional development, and community engagement.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software